2021 Reading Challenge

2021 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 3 books toward her goal of 245 books.
hide

Excerpt: The Encanto by Arthur Swan

About the Book

An ancient Mayan artifact, smuggled into Los Angeles, unexpectedly alters three lives in bizarre ways.

Gray, an aspiring artist struggling to provide for his family, Claire, his insomniac wife, and Ashley York, a wealthy socialite striving to make it as a real actress, find their paths crashing together, their dreams and their very identities threatened. Continue reading Excerpt: The Encanto by Arthur Swan

Book Review Blurb: Once Upon a Wardrobe by Patti Callahan

This was a heartbreaking, lovely homage to storytelling and family and the power of stories to carry us beyond ourselves… Callahan tells a beautiful tale of a little boy’s quest to understand the source of the magic behind his favorite story – and of his sister’s tireless efforts to provide him with the comfort he needs as his health fails. The writing is lyrical and the emotions heartfelt. The insights into the life of CS Lewis were very interesting to me, as was the picture of what it was to be woman and an Oxford scholar in the post-war years.

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for my obligation-free review copy.

Book Review: The Nameless Ones by John Connolly

I love this series so much! While I am a big fan of Louis and Angel, I must confess that I wanted a lot more Charlie – and even a lot more Louis and Angel… For a book focused on them, vast swaths of it felt more like an exegesis on the Balkan Wars, and I must confess as a result it was not my favorite of the books… It did not really feel like it was advancing the main storyline, so much as that it was part 2 of book 17 in the series (A Book of Bones) – and that also wasn’t one of my favorites. Continue reading Book Review: The Nameless Ones by John Connolly

Guest Post: On Writing: The Addiction and the Cure by Catherine Gentile, Author of Sunday’s Orphan

Today I’m pleased to bring you a guest piece by author Catherine Gentile, whose recent novel Sunday’s Orphan came out just a few weeks ago. Enjoy!

On Writing: The Addiction and the Cure

by Catherine Gentile 

I’m up to my eyeballs with activities related to the release of my third book, Sunday’s Orphan, a novel set in Georgia in 1930 during the Jim Crow era. Sunday’s Orphan, bobbed in and out of my life over the span of twenty-plus years and entailed memorable visits to Georgia to research specific details, take photos, sniff the loamy soil, then return home and incorporate insights gained into the genre of historical fiction. I loved every second of the process—well, almost every second—and swore, once I completed the last round of edits, that it was time to retire.  Continue reading Guest Post: On Writing: The Addiction and the Cure by Catherine Gentile, Author of Sunday’s Orphan

Excerpt: The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski

About the Book

For fans of Lisa Jewell, Aimee Molloy, and Joshilyn Jackson, an upmarket suspense novel from a multi-award-winning author about a tightknit group of suburban mothers who invite a new neighborhood mom into their fold, and the fallout the night of the annual block party, when secrets from the past come back to haunt them… Continue reading Excerpt: The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski