2021 Reading Challenge

2021 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 3 books toward her goal of 245 books.
hide

Book Review AND Excerpt: Aftershock by Judy Melinek and T.J. Mitchell

Today I’m pleased to bring you another title in the Harlequin Trade Publishing Winter 2021 Mystery and Thriller Blog Tour! Aftershock is the second book in the Jessie Teska series, and it’s every bit as enjoyable as the first (which I reviewed last January). Definitely read them in order – I always say that, but it’s pretty much always true! – because you’ll have a lot more character context and a much richer reading experience as a result. Enjoy!

About the Book
When an earthquake strikes San Francisco, forensics expert Jessie Teska faces her biggest threat yet in this explosive new mystery from the New York Times bestselling authors of Working Stiff and First Cut.

At first glance, the death appears to be an accident. The body is located on a construction site under what looks like a collapse beam. But when Dr. Jessie Teska arrives on the scene, she notices the tell-tale signs of a staged death. The victim has been murdered. A rising star in the San Francisco forensics world, Jessie is ready to unravel the case, help bring the murderer to justice, and prevent him from potentially striking again. Continue reading Book Review AND Excerpt: Aftershock by Judy Melinek and T.J. Mitchell

Excerpt: Find Me in Havana by Serena Burdick

Today I’m delighted to bring you another title in the Harlequin Trade Publishing Historical Fiction 2021 Winter Blog Tour! I’m transporting you to 1930s Havana for a novel based on the true story of Estelita Rodriguez, a Cuban-born Hollywood actress and singer, as her daughter Nina traces her mother’s life from Cuba to Hollywood to understand her mysterious death. Enjoy!

*Please note that there is some adult language in this excerpt.

About the Book
Find Me in Havana is a new historical novel from Serena Burdick, the author of THE GIRLS WITH NO NAMES – think NEXT YEAR IN HAVANA meets THE SEVEN HUSBANDS OF EVELYN HUGO.

Cuba, 1936: When Estelita Rodriguez sings in a hazy Havana nightclub for the very first time, she is nine years old. From then on, that spotlight of adoration—from Havana to New York’s Copacabana and then Hollywood—becomes the one true accomplishment no one can take from her. Not the 1933 Cuban Revolution that drove her family into poverty. Not the revolving door of husbands and the fickle world of film. Not even the tragic devastation of Castro’s revolution that rained down on her loved ones. Continue reading Excerpt: Find Me in Havana by Serena Burdick

Book Review: Prodigal Son by Greg Hurwitz

This is honestly one of the best action series I’ve stumbled across… Evan Smoak is a marvelous character – complex, troubled, engaging, imperfect, and snarky. I really enjoy watching his character continue to develop here, particularly with regard to his interpersonal relationships (I want to say more but it’d be a huge spoiler)… Joey is turning into a major element of the series, which I also really like – it would be cool to see her get a spin-off of her own! Continue reading Book Review: Prodigal Son by Greg Hurwitz

Excerpt: Wrong Alibi by Christina Dodd

Today I’m pleased to bring you another in the Harlequin Trade Publishing Fall Mystery Thriller blog tour! This time we’ve got Wrong Alibi. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd delivers an all-new thriller, featuring a bold and brash female protagonist.

About the Book
WRONG JOB
Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement—and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison…until fate sends her on the run. Continue reading Excerpt: Wrong Alibi by Christina Dodd

I Don’t Know How, But I Managed to Surpass My 2020 Reading Goal!

Despite a great start, a slow middle, a near-halt at 3/4 of the way, and a race to the finish in the 11th hour, I am pleased to report that I managed to hit my 2020 reading goal of 240 books (and exceeded it by one)! If you’re curious where those 241 books took me, check out my GoodReads page by clicking the image…


https://www.goodreads.com/user/year_in_books/2020/5216946